Tehreek e Labaik demands agreed to by the government

The government has agreed to the following demands of Tehreek-i-Labaik Ya Rasool Allah (TLY) in order to end the sit-in, according to a document circulating among journalists bearing signatures of the protest leaders and Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal, among others.

The agreement reached between protesters and government:

  1. Remove Federal Law Minister Zahid Hamid from his position immediately. “Tehreek-i-Labaik will issue no fatwa [religious decree] of any kind against him.”
  2. The report prepared by Raja Zafarul Haq-led committee will be made public within 30 days and whoever is named in the report for being responsible for the change in the election oath will be acted against under the law.
  3. All protesters arrested between November 6 until the end of the sit-in from across the country will be released within one to three days according to legal requirements. The cases registered against them and the house arrests imposed on them will be ended.
  4. An inquiry board will be established to probe and decide what action to take against the government and administration officials over the operation conducted by security forces against protesters on Saturday, November 25. The inquiry should be completed within 30 days and action will be taken against those found responsible.
  5. The federal and provincial governments will determine and compensate for the loss of government and private assets incurred from November 6 until the end of the sit-in.
  6. The points already agreed to concerning the Government of Punjab will be fully implemented
Leaked agreement between Tehreek e Labaik and the Government

The document ends by crediting Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa and his representative team for their “special efforts” that led to the agreement being signed.

“We are thankful to him [Gen Bajwa] for saving the nation from a big catastrophe,” the document concludes.

Besides the interior minister, the document bears the signatures of TLY leader Khadim Hussain Rizvi, Interior Secretary Arshad Mirza, two other protest leaders and Maj Gen Faiz Hameed, who facilitated the agreement.

In addition to the above, the following demands of TLY have also been accepted by the government, according to Khadim Hussain Rizvi:

  • A board of clerics led by Pir Muhammad Afzal Qadri will be set up to probe remarks made by Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah against the persecution of Ahmedis. Sanaullah will have to accept the decision made by the board.
  • No difficulty will be faced in registering cases under clause 295-C of the Pakistan Penal Code (blasphemy law)
  • No leniency will be given to those convicted by courts for blasphemy
  • No ban will be imposed on the use of loudspeakers
  • The foreign and interior ministries will take steps for the release of Dr Aafia Siddiqui after taking her mother and sister in confidence
  • The holiday of Iqbal Day on November 9 will be revived
  • Two representatives of Tehreek-i-Labaik will be included in the panel assigned to decide changes in the textbook board. The officials will push for inclusion of translation of the Holy Quran and chapters about Seerat-un-Nabi (PBUH) and Muslim leaders.
  • The chehlum of martyrs will be held on January 4 at Rawalpindi’s Liaquat Bagh
  • Every year, November 25 will be observed as “Martyrs of Prophet’s honour day

Source: Dawn News


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: